Fast & Furious 5, Amsterdam Premiere

Posted: April 28, 2011 in Films
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes you get lucky. You open your account, flip through the mail and see that you can win a fun night out. Just by answering a simple question. That is kind of what happened to me the other day.
I got a mail from Belbios.nl telling me that I could win tickets for the Amsterdam Premiere of Fast 5, the latest film in the Fast & Furious series. Well why not, I have been watching the films ever since the first one came out. As not all of these movies were great, the second one was actually very disappointing, I was really curious to see where the director would go with this new addition to the family.

I replied to the email and within a few minutes after pressing the “Send” button I already got a call from Belbios.nl telling me I had won the tickets. AWESOME!!! As I had won two tickets, a partner in crime was not hard to find! MaX5 racer Bart Wubben was very much willing to join me for the evening. As I could leave my work early, I arrived in time to see some of the promo events the organizers had set up to boost the premiere. A large crowd had already gathered at the Pathe Arena cinema where the event was held. DJ’s were spinning, the guys from Streetgasm were showing of some of the best tuned JDM cars in Holland and some of America’s finest Muscle cars were also present.

As the red carpet would not open up before 7 P.M. I strolled around the variety of cars and enjoyed watching the opening ceremony unfold. By 6 P.M. the MC was already hyping the crowd that Paul Walker, Dwayne Johnson & Justin Lin would be on the move from their hotel to the cinema. The two actors and the director would make an appearance at the Amsterdam premiere, so already a variety of groupies and fans had shown up to catch a glimpse of these guys. However their patience would be tested for a bit.

Bart arrived a little after the opening of the red carpet. As we wanted to have some good seats we made our way into the cinema. Monster Energy drinks, Fast 5 caps and popcorn were distributed to the audience and inside you could watch the action going on at the red carpet. More and more celebrities were making the run down the press line up. Finally after nearly two hours of waiting, and getting bored from watching people enter the cinema, the stars of the night arrived. Rolling up and getting out of their Dodge Chargers it took a while to sign autographs and do the usual promo talk to the press. Alright here we go, a short interview and some casual chit chatting in the cinema for the guests and finally the film kicks off.

A few action packed hours later and I was traveling back home. Fast 5 was actually an entertaining film. This time around it was more of an action movie than a film that was based on showing street racing. This made the cars a little less shine as the stars and put the focus more on the action part. Plenty of stunts, some cool camera angles and a story that also refers to the previous parts made me like the movie. I might not watch it as often the first one back in 2001 but I will go and see it again some day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

See more info on the movie at the official site.

Leave a comment